30 miles in a day

So far on my Kirkwood 5000 adventure I’ve run the York and Manchester marathons, run to every square on the Monopoly board, done a load of parkruns including the one in Florida, run a whole load of other races including PB’s at 5K, 10K and half marathon distances, run 25 days straight, and covered a total of over 1,650 miles in 83 weeks…….but on Saturday 15th July I am taking on my biggest challenge yet.

Kirkwood is celebrating it’s 30th anniversary this year and to mark the occasion they’re asking people to host parties. So – I’m hosting a running party – I’m running 30 miles to celebrate 30 years, visiting 11 of the Kirkwood Hospice shops en route. I’ll be kicking off at 9am from Huddersfield, running to Lindley, Marsh, Slaithwaite, Marsden, Meltham, Holmfirth, Honley, Kirkburton, Almondbury, Waterloo, and finishing off at the Hospice – a tour of as many of the Hospice shops in that part of the hilliest bits of Kirklees as my legs will take me.

There are a few different ways you could support me with this –
Firstly, it would be great if as many of my running friends could join me for sections of this challenge – I’ll be publishing a proper rough timetable for the day nearer the time, and there will be information in all the shops and online. Running is a great way to stay fit and healthy and although running 30 miles in a day in the middle of summer is probably a bit extreme for most people, you can join me for a section or sections – there are two that are less than a mile, and the longest is less than 5 miles. I’m trying to think about it as a series of 11 little runs, so why not join me for a little run or two?
Second, you could share this post, spread the word on Facebook or twitter (@andy5000miles / #Kirkwood5000) – the primary aim of this is to raise awareness of the amazing work the Hospice does for our area, so the more publicity we can get the better.
Third, is anyone wants to make a donation or even just publish or promote my just giving site it’s here https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/andy5000
My online and offline fundraising totals around £6,000 so far, it would be fabulous if this event pushed that total up a little bit, so any help you can give with that would be amazing.
If you want to take part (or “come to my party”) then get in touch either here on the blog or DM me on twitter, or just turn up – keep an eye on this page for more detailed information nearer the time –
The fun kicks off on Saturday 15th July – 9am at the Hospice shop in Huddersfield Town Centre!

Leave a Reply

